For a new governance of social networks

By Marc Ansoult

"Indignant" said Stéphane Hessel in 2010. Since then we stop: humans who bomb other humans to birds that disappear from our countryside, every day we have something to indignation and forget about indignation from yesterday.

Yet there is an indignation that does not pass me. As Antonio Tajani, the president of the European Parliament said on his Twitter account, Facebook must make clear to the 500 million Europeans that personal data are not used to manipulate democracy.

When we touch democracy in Europe, we touch the base of our values ​​and our very identity as Europeans; it really does not matter - the indignation should be and stay at its peak!

We were shocked by the outbreaks of chicken dioxin or eggs with fipronil. This time, it's always surprise and outrage, except that it's even worse. During the treatment of food crises, it was possible to sort and evacuate the chickens or the damaged eggs and then put production back on the way. How do you think that this time we can remove manipulated ideas from the brains, recount the votes and find the democratic way?

To be satisfied with Mark Zuckerberg's excuses and simply wait for the next "sorry oops" seems to me frankly irresponsible in view of the centuries that have been necessary to build our model of society.

Today with more than two billion users and with all the personal data that is in Facebook, is it still normal that their governance is that of a private company without any transparency? Facebook has actually changed in nature.

Facebook is no longer a Californian start-up publishing a social network that can find old classmates. It has become a medium that impacts 30% of the world's population and, in the hands of some, can change the fate of millions of citizens and continents.

What would you think if we said that Facebook's governance (including its publication algorithm) is now ensured by states, the private sector, civil society and international organizations, as part of their respective roles? What would you say if the principles, norms, rules, decision-making procedures that shape the evolution and use of the social network are thus jointly developed, applied and controlled?

It's actually similar to Internet governance, which is another global phenomenon. The Internet has been driven by the Internet Society (ISOC) since 1992 and its governance has been debated since 2003 through world summits. The picture that illustrates the article is that of the Arab Multi-stakeholder Internet Governance Meeting Wraps Up in Dubai in March 2013.

I dream, I know. Is not that what our world village really needs?

View and comment on this article on LinkedIn

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at

Pour une nouvelle gouvernance des réseaux sociaux

Par Marc Ansoult

“Indignez-vous” disait Stéphane Hessel en 2010. Depuis on n’arrête plus : des humains qui bombardent d'autres humains aux oiseaux qui disparaissent de nos campagnes, tous les jours nous avons de quoi nous indigner et de quoi oublier l’indignation de la veille.

Pourtant il y a une indignation qui ne me passe pas. Comme disait Antonio Tajani, le président du Parlement Européen sur son compte Twitter, Facebook doit clarifier devant les 500 millions d’Européens le fait que les données personnelles ne sont pas exploitées pour manipuler la démocratie.

Quand on touche à la démocratie en Europe, on touche au socle de nos valeurs et à notre identité même d’Européen ; ça n’a vraiment rien de banal - l’indignation devrait être et rester à son comble ! 

Nous avons été choqué par les crises du poulet à la dioxine ou des oeufs au fipronil.  Cette fois-ci, c’est toujours la surprise et l’indignation, sauf que c’est encore pire.  Lors du traitement des crises alimentaires, on a pu trier et évacuer les poulets ou les oeufs avariés puis remettre la production en route. Comment pensez-vous que l’on puisse cette fois-ci retirer les idées manipulées des cerveaux, recompter les votes et retrouver le chemin démocratique ?

Se satisfaire des excuses de Mark Zuckerberg et attendre simplement le prochain "oups sorry" me semble franchement irresponsable au regard des siècles qui ont été nécessaires pour construire notre modèle de société.

Aujourd’hui avec plus de deux milliards d’utilisateurs et avec toutes les données personnelles qui se trouvent dans Facebook, est-il toujours normal que leur gouvernance soit celle d’une société privée sans aucune transparence ? Facebook a en fait changé de nature.

Facebook n’est plus une start-up californienne éditrice d’un réseau social qui permet de retrouver d'anciens camarades de classe. C’est devenu un média qui impacte 30% de la population mondiale et qui, entre les mains de certains, peut changer le destin de millions de citoyens et de continents.

Que penseriez-vous si l’on disait que la gouvernance de Facebook (y compris son algorithme de publication) soit maintenant assurée ensemble par les États, le secteur privé, la société civile et les organisations internationales, dans le cadre de leurs rôles respectifs? Que diriez-vous si les principes, normes, règles, procédures de prise de décision propres à façonner l’évolution et l’usage du réseau social soient ainsi conjointement élaborés, appliqués et contrôlés ?

C’est en fait similaire à la gouvernance d’Internet qui est un autre phénomène global. L’Internet est pilotée par l’Internet Society (ISOC) depuis 1992 et sa gouvernance est débattue depuis 2003 à travers des sommets mondiaux. La photo qui illustre l'article est celle de l'Arab Multi-stakeholder Internet Governance Meeting Wraps Up in Dubai en Mars 2013.

Je rêve, je sais. N'est-ce pas pourtant ce dont notre village mondial aurait vraiment besoin ? 

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at contact@exquando.com

Fermer