Governance & Leadership

By Marc Ansoult

We often hear that we lack a true leader to solve the problems facing our societies. We are therefore focusing on searching the RIGHT person who could best define the policy of years to come and solve all our problems.  

If it appears that a well-known charismatic leader is the right solution, a study in the United States showed that CEOs whose companies had increased their value on the stock exchange on a regular basis for more than 10 years were generally not known to the general public.

Marc Deschamps, in his corporate governance course at the SBS, asked his students to estimate the number of nuts in a jar. Participants generally state their estimate, which can vary from one to three, with great confidence. The closest estimate is systematically obtained after a lot of discussion. And strangely, the more diverging points the more the final estimate is right.  

Professor Vankerkem at UMONS, an expert in innovative teams, says nothing else when he claims that a team will only perform well if it is composed equally of counsellors, helpers, prospectors, facilitators, planners, doers and controllers. The MBTI also reveals that an assembly is efficient if it is composed of different profiles, and not only those of leaders of the ENTP type. When it comes to governance, researchers at the Sherbrooke university consider that decisions and implementations of public actions should be exercised by all those who have an influence and an interest in the matter at hand.

Ultimately, the RIGHT person is not the one who promotes this or that solution from either left or right to solve the problems of our societies; it will be the one that promotes the right assembly or assemblies which will best represent the society in all its aspects, and in which members, with differing opinions and profiles, will come up with the best solutions for all.

The programme of the expected leader is therefore to declare which assemblies he/she will convene for what purposes and how they will be composed (citizens, elected officials, experts...). Some assemblies could resume functions traditionally devolved, for example, to ministerial offices. If everyone agrees on the mission of the assemblies and on their composition, one may think that the outcome will be better that the one currently obtained.

If governance becomes an art of living, the assembly is the Swiss knife to constantly have at hand, whether for a family meeting, an organisation assembly, or a public welfare management committee.

Many citizens could nowadays sit in an assembly and take responsibility for social issues we face.

Read and comment this article on LinkedIn

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at

Gouvernance & Leadership

Par Marc Ansoult

On entend souvent qu’il manque un vrai leader pour régler les problèmes auxquels nos sociétés sont confrontées. Nous sommes alors dans la posture de se focaliser sur la recherche de LA personne qui pourrait au mieux définir la politique des années à venir et régler tous nos problèmes.  

Si a priori on pense qu’un leader charismatique bien connu du grand public soit la bonne solution, une étude menée aux Etats-Unis a montré que les CEO dont les entreprises avaient pris régulièrement de la valeur en bourse sur une durée de plus de 10 ans étaient en général inconnus du grand public.  

Marc Deschamps dans son cours de gouvernance d’entreprise à la SBS demande à ses étudiants d’estimer le nombre de noix dans un bocal. Les participants énoncent généralement avec beaucoup d’aplomb leur estimation qui peut varier d’un facteur de un à trois. L’estimation la plus proche est systématiquement obtenue après discussion. Et bizarrement, au plus il y a de points de vue fort divergents qui se confrontent, au plus l’estimation finale est juste.  

Le professeur Vankerkem à l'UMONS, spécialiste des équipes innovantes, ne dit rien d’autre quand il enseigne qu’une équipe sera performante si elle se compose à dose égale de profil de type orienteur, serveur, prospecteur, planificateur, facilitateur, réalisateur et contrôleur.  Dans le contexte du MBTI, on dira aussi qu’une assemblée est performante si elle comporte des profils différents et pas seulement ceux de dirigeants de type ENTP. En gouvernance, les chercheurs de l’université de Sherbrooke considèrent que les décisions et mises en oeuvre des actions publiques devraient se faire par tous les acteurs qui ont un pouvoir ou un intérêt dans la chose traitée.   

In fine, LA personne recherchée ne serait pas celle qui promeut telle ou telle solution de gauche ou de droite à nos problèmes de société mais sera celle qui promeut la ou les meilleures assemblées qui représenteront au mieux la société dans tous les aspects concernés, dont les membres auront des opinions et des profils différents et qui proposeront les meilleures solutions pour tous.

Le programme du leader attendu sera alors de déclarer quelles assemblées il va convoquer à quelles fins et de quelle manière il va les composer (citoyens, élus, experts …).  Si l’on est d’accord sur la mission des assemblées et si l’on est d’accord sur ceux qui y siègeront, on peut penser que les résultats seront meilleurs que ceux produits actuellement. Certaines assemblées pourraient reprendre des fonctions dévolues traditionnellement, par exemple, aux cabinets ministériels.

Si l’on fait de la gouvernance un art de vivre, l’assemblée est le couteau suisse à avoir toujours en poche, qu’il s’agisse d’une assemblée de famille, d’une assemblée de société, ou d’une assemblée liée à la gestion des biens publics.  

De nombreux citoyens pourraient aujourd'hui siéger dans une assemblée et prendre des responsabilités par rapport aux enjeux de société auxquels nous sommes confrontés.

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at contact@exquando.com

Fermer