Exquando supports the exhibition ‘Mapping Knowledge’ at the Mundaneum

The exhibition ‘Mapping Knowledge : understanding the world through data’ will open its doors on 27 June as part of Mons 2015 and the reopening of the Mundaneum after two years of work. It was natural for Exquando to support this event which will be an opportunity for each visitor to reflect on the world of information we live in and on the way we can manage and protect our knowledge.

The founders of the Mundaneum, Paul Otlet and Henri La Fontaine, tried, at the end of the 19th century, to gather and sort all the world’s knowledge in all its forms in a unique and centralised place: the ‘Universal bibliographic directory’. This visionary and innovative initiative can be considered as the ancestor on paper of today’s Internet search engines.

In his ‘Treaty on documentation’, back in 1934, Paul Otlet wrote : « Humanity is at a turning point. The mass of data acquired is phenomenal. We need new tools to simplify and condense this knowledge, otherwise never will the intelligence be able to overcome the difficulties it is facing, nor achieve the progress it foresees and to which it aspires. »

Marc Ansoult, Exquando Managing Director, comments : “What Paul Otlet wrote then was true for the few wise minds who were concerned with the knowledge managed in the documentation centres of the time. Today this has become a concern for many executives of many organisations, both public and private.”

Exquando invites everyone who feels concerned about today’s challenges in information management to visit this exhibition which mixes art and science in a place of culture.

About the exhibition
In this place dedicated to memory, magnified by the scenography of François Schuiten, the exhibition proposes an interactive journey at the heart of information. From the history of the pioneers of data visualisation to today’s anticipations, the exhibition combines art, science, design and information architecture.

Mapping Knowledge. Understanding the world through data

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at

Exquando, partenaire de l’exposition ‘Mapping Knowledge’ au Mundaneum

L’exposition ‘Mapping Knowledge - comprendre le monde par les données’ s’ouvrira ce 27 juin dans le cadre de Mons 2015 et de la réouverture du Mundaneum après deux ans de travaux. Exquando a tout naturellement décidé de soutenir cet évènement qui sera pour chaque visiteur l’occasion d’une réflexion sur le monde de l’information dans lequel nous évoluons et sur la manière dont nous pouvons gérer et protéger nos savoirs.

Les fondateurs du Mundaneum, Paul Otlet et Henri La Fontaine, ont tenté, dès la fin du 19ème siècle, de rassembler et de classer tous les savoirs du monde sous toutes ses formes dans un lieu unique et centralisé : le Répertoire bibliographique universel. Cette initiative visionnaire et novatrice peut être considérée comme l’ancêtre sur papier des moteurs de recherche sur Internet d’aujourd’hui.

Paul Otlet écrivait déjà en 1934 dans son Traité de documentation : « L'humanité est à un tournant de son histoire. La masse de données acquises est formidable. Il faut de nouveaux instruments pour les simplifier, les condenser ou jamais l'intelligence ne saura ni surmonter les difficultés qui l'accablent, ni réaliser les progrès qu'elle entrevoit et auxquels elle aspire. »

Marc Ansoult, Managing Director d’Exquando, commente : “Ce qu’écrivait Paul Otlet était vrai pour les quelques savants qui se préoccupaient des connaissances gérées dans les centres de documentation de l’époque. Aujourd’hui c’est devenu une préoccupation pour beaucoup de dirigeants d’organisations tant publiques que privées.”

Exquando invite tous ceux et celles qui se sentent concernés par les enjeux de la gestion de l’information dans le monde d’aujourd’hui à découvrir cette exposition qui mêle art et science dans un lieu de culture.

À propos de l’exposition
Dans ce lieu dédié à la mémoire magnifié par la scénographie de François Schuiten, l’exposition propose un voyage interactif au cœur de l’information. Elle retrace l’histoire des pionniers de la visualisation des données jusqu’aux anticipations d’aujourd’hui à travers une approche mêlant les pratiques : art, science, design, architecture de l’information.

Mapping Knowledge - Comprendre le monde par les données

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at contact@exquando.com

Fermer