From ROI (Return on Investment) to COI (Cost of Inaction)

At one time, when you sold a service, you had to justify a ROI - a Return On Investment. We can say that the return was king: with a good return, everything was salable. It was the time of quiet growth.

But all growth ends one day because of a limiting factor. In the economy of the ROI, externalities have been ignored: it's cool to make and sell more and more cars ... except that one day the gases and microparticles emitted by hundreds of millions of vehicles end up to become a concern for public health.

When we admit that growth is no longer sustainable, how can we convince investors that it is time to invest if there is no ROI on the horizon? How much does it cost to set up alternative mobility? Who will pay ? Should we be preparing for new taxes?

In a world in transition or in crisis, you have to go from ROI or COI - the Cost Of Inaction. Today, while there is urgency, the more we continue to not change, the more the budget we will have to unlock will swell - and therefore the only way to reduce the inevitable investment is to invest now.

Who can say today how much will a new day of inaction cost?

Some know it from experience. Ask a patient who has waited too long for a medical check-up, a parent who has neglected the first signs of a teenager's stall, a CEO who has long overdue budgets for processing, or a frog in his pan. on a low heat that did not come out in time ...

In a year - what will you think of today? Was it time to be attentive and react? Should we have had to commit to get a first budget and get into action?

#ActNow

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at

Du ROI (Return On Investment) au COI (Cost Of Inaction)

A une certaine époque, quand on vendait un service, il fallait justifier d’un ROI - un Return On Investment. On peut dire que le return était roi : avec un bon return, tout était vendable. C’était l’époque de la croissance tranquille.

Mais toute croissance s’achève un jour du fait d’un facteur limitant. Dans l’économie du ROI, les externalités ont été ignorées : c’est cool de fabriquer et de vendre de plus en plus de voitures... sauf qu’un jour les gaz et les microparticules émises par des centaines de millions de véhicules finissent par devenir un souci pour la santé publique.

Quand on admet que la croissance n’est plus tenable, comment convaincre qu’il est temps d’investir si il n’y a pas de ROI à l’horizon ? Combien coûte la mise en place d’une mobilité alternative ? Qui va payer ? Doit-on se prépare à de nouvelles taxes ?

Dans un monde en transition ou en crise, il faut passer du ROI ou COI - le Cost Of Inaction. Aujourd’hui alors qu’il y a urgence, plus on continue à ne pas changer, plus le budget qu’il va falloir débloquer va enfler - et donc la seule manière de réduire l’inéluctable investissement est d’investir maintenant.

Qui peut dire aujourd’hui combien coûtera un nouveau jour d’inaction ?

Certain le connaisse d’expérience. Demandez à un patient qui a attendu trop longtemps pour passer un examen médical, à un parent qui a négligé les premiers signes de décrochage de son adolescent, à un PDG qui a trop longtemps reporté les budgets pour la transformation ou à la grenouille dans sa casserole à feu doux qui n’en est pas sortie à temps …

Dans un an - que penserez-vous d’aujourd’hui ? Etait-ce le moment d’être attentif et de réagir ? Aurait-il fallu s’engager pour décrocher un premier budget et se mettre en action ?

#ActNow

LinkedIn Facebook

We do not collect personal data via this website. Every data provided to us through the contact forms of this website is used to facilitate routine contact and operational work.
Data is held securely and is subject to access controls.
For any question related to our Data Protection Policies and process, please contact us at contact@exquando.com

Fermer